⚠️ There are now 2 versions of OneClickUpsell. If the app was installed from the Shopify App store, you’re using the OneClickUpsell Native version which has a blue/orange color scheme. For the OCU Native knowledge base click here.
What is the GDPR?
The General Data Protection Regulation is a law that gives residents of the European Union (EU) and the European Economic Area (EEA) more control over their personal data and seeks to clarify rules and responsibilities for online services with European users.
The regulation expands the scope of what companies must consider personal data, and it requires them to closely track the data they've stored on EU and EEA residents. If someone in the EU or EEA wants a company to delete his or her data, send copies of the data, or correct an error in the data, companies have to comply.
How can I ensure compliance for my customers that use the OCU Checkout?
Go to Settings > Page Defaults > Checkout Page and click the "Customize" button there. In the "Appearance" section of the Checkout Page editor, we have added a GDPR Checkbox and GDPR Accepts Checkbox Label to collect consent from EU and EEA customers to store and process their data.
The GDPR Checkbox setting is enabled by default. You can hide this checkbox and message by clicking the switcher for this setting to disable it, but it is strongly recommended to have it be enabled for your EU and EEA customers.
Note: If enabled, this checkbox will only show for customers which are detected as being from countries belonging to the European Union (EU) or the European Economic Area (EEA) based on IP address.
GDPR Accepts Checkbox Label - Default text is provided. Use this field to add your own text for the GDPR checkbox message if desired.
Where will the GDPR checkbox and message be shown to EU customers on the OCU checkout?
The GDPR checkbox and message will be shown to your EU and EEA customers directly below the "Shipping address" section of the first step of the checkout. This placement is important since it's required to collect consent prior to proceeding any further. If this checkbox is not clicked, the customer will not be able to proceed to the next step of the checkout.